Two New Tracks

Which is more powerful – music or literature? I’m inclined to think that music has the upper hand although that doesn’t stop me from trying to make my writing more like music. Direct communication is tough. You have to know what to put in and what to leave out. And you have to do that in the moment. I agree with Vangelis – the first take is usually the best one because you don’t really know what you’re doing. You’re just doing. Editing is about removing any bum notes without touching the magic of the take itself.

I have two new tracks up. One is a very trippy workout at a Beatport contest for Tosca’s song, Looking. The other one is a reworking of Matt Holliday’s excellent trance track, Departures. I slowed down the BPM and gave it a Mike Oldfield treatment circa Amarok. I love the mix of acoustic and electronic sounds and the change in dynamic range without losing the rhythm. For me, the breakdowns in a lot of electronic music are too long.

About stirlingnoh

I am a Canadian author of existential novellas and poetry along with urban erotica.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

