Length Matters

I like poems. I like novellas. They are forms that should force the writer to say his piece and get out. The reader should not be forced to endure the vanities of a writer. The reader is there to enjoy good content, not bad posturing or nattering.

I love the title sequence of Run, Lola, Run in which the cheeky security guard says, twinkle in his eye, “90 minutes and a ball.” Exactly. Like writing, film is a game that needs to be played well. So why are movies a game that seems to be played longer and more poorly. Check out this very interesting article.

For me, the guy who plays the game the best when he’s at his best is Patrice Leconte. His movies are rarely longer than 90 minutes and they are the better for it. Enjoy this fantastic scene from Man on the Train, showcasing why less is more when you know exactly what you want to say and how to say it. Excuse my French but… the English version of the beautifully mysterious poem by Louis Aragon appears below the video.

On the Pont-Neuf I met…
Who sings that distant song?
A badly anchored barge
Or the Samaritaine metro stop
On the Pont-Neuf I met…
No dog, no stick, no sign
Pity for those in despair
That the crowd turns aside from…”
On the Pont-Neuf I met…
Sitting on the worn stones
The air that I murmured
The dream that was my light.”

About stirlingnoh

I am a Canadian author of existential novellas and poetry along with urban erotica.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

